My Top Ten Favorite Sports Films

Posted: September 24, 2011 by mceagle611 in Sports
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Courtesy of http://www.imbd.com, santora.jp, http://www.moviepostershop.com, and moviestudio.wordpress.com

To kick-off my weekend I went to go check out the new movie that has everyone buzzing – Moneyball – when I started to walk out of the theater I was a loss of words to describe how good this movie was. This, I thought to myself, was a rare spectacle … rarely do I find myself entranced on a movie to the point that I am almost consumed in the movie, but the comedy and emotional one-two punch of the film had me in awe for all 126 minutes. I got to thinking last night, what are my favorite Sports Movies of all time? No, I’m not talking comedies like Talladega Nights, Caddyshack, Happy Gilmore, Blades of Glory, or The Waterboy; I’m talking about true-stories, a detailed and believable plot-line, and – in some cases – tear-jerking closings. Without further adieu, here’s my top ten…

Honorable Mentions just outside my Top 10: Field of Dreams and Glory Road

10 – The Rookie (starring Dennis Quaid) – I started watching this movie when I was young, and it’s message will never escape me. I know basically even single line from this film, and it’s just a feel-good movie that I could honestly watch until I die.

9 – Ali (starring Will Smith) – This one is probably the most unknown film out of the ten, but nonetheless powerful. Every sports fan knows the story of The Rumble in the Jungle: Mohammed Ali’s victory of mammoth proportions over George Foreman. This movie tells the epic tale of how the cocky, confident “champ” overcame the slimmest odds to beat “Big George.”

8 – The Blind Side (starring Sandra Bullock) – The Blind Side tells the emotional story of how Michael Oher – Baltimore Ravens Offensive Lineman – became an NFL Player from such a poor background. I’m sure you’ve seen it, and it’s one of my favorites.

7 – Hoosiers (starring Gene Hackman) – I know that this is the favorite of many, however it comes in at number 7 on my list. The inspirational movie makes you believe even the biggest task can be accomplished. And remember: no matter where you play a basketball court is 94 feet long and both baskets are 10 feet tall.

6 – Remember the Titans (starring Denzel Washington) – I would venture to say that this is the best ‘team’ sports movie in that the team must come together and stand tall. The mesh between the players by the end of the film is satisfying and it’s a household favorite.

5 – More Than a Game (Documentary starring LeBron James) – Man, let me tell you that you are certainly missing out if you haven’t treated yourself to this one. LBJ fan or not this documentary acts like a true sports movie that seems as though it could only be scripted because of all the drama the team faces throughout the four years James and company attend the school.

4 – Coach Carter (starring Samuel L. Jackson) – Definitely my favorite basketball movie, without a doubt. Samuel L. Jackson disciplines a struggling group of kids and it allows them to succeed not only on the court, but in life.

3 – Moneyball (starring Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill) – I’m not overreacting folks, in a year (after I see it at least once or twice more) this movie might become my Number 1. Based on a true story, Brad Pitt plays Billy Beane, owner of the Oakland A’s and ex-MLB Player, who in 2001/2002 defied scouting methods of the past only to make-way for the present method of taking players – mathematically in order to score runs. One of the most emotional endings to a film I have ever seen.

2 – Miracle (starring Kurt Russell) – You talk about national pride – The Americans triumphant win over The Soviet Union at the 1980 Olympics toward the end of the Cold War caused just that. It shows that in the US we have the unwavering passion and will to win, we will always strive for greatness.

1 – The Legend of Beggar Vance (starring Will Smith and Matt Damon) – I know what your thinking..what in the hell is he thinking? I don’t know why but every time I watch The Legend of Beggar Vance I remember that you can do whatever you set your mind to – it is inside of you no mater what you may think.

Twitter Follow Button :

Comments
  1. Lonewolf says:

    I think that you need to add a few to your list . . . . as far as true stories, there are definitely two that need to be added to this list–Brian’s Song and Something For Joey. I’m sure that you have never heard of these two, but I would consider them the “tear jerkiest” of the tear jerkers. Other true stories that are interesting, but maybe not so sad are the The Lou Gehrig Story, The Dizzy Dean Story, The Natural, and the story about the 1919 Black Sox titled “Eight Men Out”.

    • mceagle611 says:

      Yeah, I have never seen these films though. I have also heard Raging Bulls is a good movie, as well as Jerry Macguire (not sure why I haven’t seen that yet) but I’ll have to check those two out (Brian’s Song and Something for Joey). The tear jerkers are doing it for me now after Moneyball.

  2. nig34 says:

    forgot happy gilmore

Leave a Reply

