1 Start em’ and Sit em’ at each position: Fantasy Football Week 2

Posted: September 13, 2011 by mceagle611 in Sports
Tags: , , , , , ,

Courtesy of hubpages.com

The Fantasy Season kicked off with a bang Sunday as their were some surprises that only a true Fantasy owner would be satisfied with. Here are my must-starts and must-sits for Week 2, pay attention and check back because I pretty much guarantee the guys I list are bound to go off or be busts this coming week!

QB’s :

Start em’ – Matthew Stafford – He’s playing the Chiefs and I see him absolutely going off. You know that if you pass for 3 TD’s against a decent defense then you can exploit a Kansas City defense that played like ass in Week 1.
Proj: 260 yards, 3 TD’s, 0 INT’s.

Sit em’ – Matt Ryan – Listen he did not have an impressive showing in Week 1 because I saw that he was uncomfortable in the pocket and for some reason the Bears defense was creating lots of havoc. Ryan is going up against another elite defense this Sunday and I don’t see it getting much better this week – not to say that after this week they will develop more chemistry and togetherness on offense.
Proj: 180 yards, 1 TD, 2 INT’s

RB’s :

Start em’ – Peyton Hillis – Last week Arian Foster was unable to play and the Ben Tate/Derrick Ward duo took over…they exposed the Colts weak defense. Listen, expect Hillis to have a big week before he has that season ending injury I talk about in August (here).
Proj: 145 total yards, 1 TD

Sit em’ – DeAngelo Williams – Arizona does have a pretty good run defense, I’ll give the Panthers starting running back DeAngelo Williams that; but his performance Sunday was sub-par. Don’t expect much from DeAngelo Williams this Sunday as they play one hell of a defense – the World Champion Packers. Leave a comment below if you have Williams and would like advice based on your predicament. (And for the love of god sit down Knowshon Moreno)
Proj: 45 total yards, 0 TDs

WR’s :

Start em’ – Anquan Boldin – Caught a TD pass in week 1 (almost 2 if not for an offensive pass interference call) and, more importantly, looked young and quick. Flacco is an elite once again and I think this guy this week against at Tennessee.
Proj: 85 yards, 1 TD

Sit em’ – Roddy White – I made this pick pretty much for the same reasons that I discussed earlier regarding Matt Ryan but I do have one more reason that should make this benching much easier: He’s probably going to have Nnamdi Asomugha on him. Just a thought..
Proj: 35 yards, 0 TDs

TE’s :

Start em’ – Jermichael Finley – Do the next two names mean anything to you : Panthers Defense and Aaron Rodgers? Two good reasons to start Jermichael Finley this week. Don’t forget Jermichael though, he was injured most of last season but he is arguably the best TE in the league.
Proj: 90 yards, 1 TD

Sit em’ – Vernon Davis – Alex Smith? Enough said. But couple that with a Dallas Defense hungry for a win, not to mention a D-Coordinator that wants it 5 times as bad; that is a recipe for disaster for these 49ers.
Proj: 20 yards, 0 TDs

Again feel free to ask for any Fantasy Advice below: I will definitely give you your best option and a same-day response.

Twitter Follow Button :

Comments
  1. ec says:

    through all the fantasy columns i’ve read this year, i’ve never heard any part of az’s defense described as “good.”
    what do you think about blount going forward?

    • mceagle611 says:

      Let the record show I said decent purposely. I like Blount once Freeman gets the offense rolling. He was very disappointing this week but they did run into an improved Lions defense. Blount has some serous speed and agility, I see him gettin around a touchdown a week for the next four weeks.

  2. scott says:

    I’m in a ppr league btw. My friend proposed a trade to me. calving johnson and jason witten for ap and hakeem.

    • mceagle611 says:

      I assume you are receiving Calvin Johnson and Jason Witten? I believe that this would be a very risky trade for you despite the fact that they receive the ball a lot. Even though it is a ppr league I tend to think that you are better off decline the deal and seeking a trade between Johnson and nicks. Peterson is just too valuable a back to get rid of.

  3. Numby says:

    I liked the article and I await your thoughts on D’angelo. Will he get any better this year? Should I deal him while he still may have some value, if so how would you handle it. Thanks!
    QB Ben Roethlisberger
    WR Mike Wallace
    WR Steve Smith (Car)
    RB Jamaal Charles
    RB LeSean McCoy
    TE Antonio Gates
    BN DeAngelo Williams
    BN Sidney Rice
    BN Lee Evans
    BN Robert Meachem
    BN James Starks
    BN Rex Grossman
    K Stephen Gostkowski
    DEF New Orleans

    • Numby says:

      oh standard Yahoo scoring except passing TD’s are 6 instead of 4. Thanks again.

    • mceagle611 says:

      Yes, I really think that you should deal him. I clearly not a good idea to start him this weekend against the Packers if you were going to keep him, but I think he is steadily on the decline. Newton is going to do better than I thought and that goes a long way to say that he will be keeping the defenses honest. I have Williams in one of my leagues and I started him last week and I just don’t get the feeling he’s going to take off at anytime this weekend. Sell now (like you said) while he still has some value. I would try to get a new QB because I really don’t like the direction in which Rothelisberger is headed. I think the Steelers age cataches up to them this year. Another thing, don’t under estimate James Starks, I like that you drafted him because he is essentially the Packers goalline back and splits carries with Ryan Grant, he might even take the ‘starting’ role very soon. So try to keep him, he is certainly a fantasy stock on the rise. (With Newton behind center now, hang on to Steve Smith too)

  4. Rob says:

    What do you think about MJD?
    Should I bench him for Beanie Wells?

    • mceagle611 says:

      To be honest I was surprised that MJD scored last weekend… granted he was playing a Tennessee defense that has a couple of holes in it. If MJD scores this week it’ll probably a goal line score, so going forward he’s a week-by-week type of guy depending on who else you have on your team. If you have other good running backs like Beanie Wells then I would definitely suggest giving him strong consideration. This week I honestly don’t like Wells too much because the Redskins rush defense is somewhat strong. However, going forward I love his stock because he is their solid starter now and has the ability to tear up weak rush defenses….a premium in the NFC west.

  5. Rob says:

    And you said bench V. DAvis?
    I have him.
    I picked up Aran Herndandez though.
    Should I play Aran over V.Davis?

  6. Rob says:

    Also, lets not forget dustin keller had 60 yards and a td against the cowboys.

  7. DJ says:

    I have owen daniels and rob gronkowski bothe seem to be good options but wjich one ahs the best value?

    • mceagle611 says:

      I’ll tell you what, as I told @Rob either of the Pats TE’s are a good play. Just because they are the only two TE’s on the same team that are probably both projected a TD every week. I think Rob Gronkowski is the better of the two and since Daniels didn’t have a TD against possibly the worst defense in the league this year then I have to say that Gronkowski is a good start for Week 2

  8. […] club that is still trying to find their identity. I like Brady this week Fantasy wise, also…(read here)…but who doesn’t! Courtesy of […]

Leave a Reply

