Wednesday Night Shuffle

Posted: August 25, 2011 by eptarheels23 in Music, Wednesday Night Shuffle
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


It’s time for the fourth addition of Wednesday Thursday Night Shuffle! I realize it’s Thursday though. I was scrambling around to get ready for school and everything and it slipped my mind and I’m finally getting around to it now. If you aren’t familiar, then here’s the deal: I’m going to select five different tracks that have been on rotation the most during the past week. They can be new, old, rap, rock, pop, whatever. I’ll talk a little about each track and give you a stream, download, ect. It’s just going to be about good music. So without further adieu hit the jump for the fourth edition of Wednesday Night Shuffle and be on the lookout for them every Wednesday night!

Huey Mack – You’re a Star, Pt. II (feat. Jo Christo)
The West Virginia emcee is making his second appearance in the Wednesday Night Shuffle Series. I am quickly becoming a huge fan of him as I hear more and more of his material. This track was featured on his newest release Freshman 15 and is one of the standouts from said tape. Huey’s details the story of him growing up to where he is now, with the message that you can be a star no matter how it seems. His flow is sick and tied along with a dope hook from Jo Christo, you have an incredible track.

G-Eazy – Runaround Sue (feat. Greg Banks)
Let me start this off by saying I’m not really a fan of G-Eazy. I find his voice kind of high pitched and annoying, almost like he’s got a clogged nose. With that being said, I love this track. It’s off his new tape, The Endless Summer, and the whole tape as a 1950’s summer theme to it. The beat on here is downright nasty, filled with huge drum kicks. I guess G-Eazy’s verses are nice, but Greg Banks’ hook is my favorite part of the track without a doubt.

Trey Songz – Whatever You Like
Definitely my favorite track from Mr. Steal Yo Girl where he tries to half rap, half sing over an old beat. The combination between the two here is crazy and the way he incorporates his ability to rap makes for an amazing cover. If you’re a fan of Trey Songz, Whatever You Like or a fan of music in general, I would definitely suggest giving this one a spin.

Hi-Rez – The City (feat. Triple J)
Florida rapper Hi-Rez switches it up here and goes with the NYC sound. The beat is definitely a banger and Hi-Rez goes nuts all over the beat. His flow has improved tremendously since his early work and this proves it. He also snags a nasty guest verse from Triple C, who’s sound compliments Hi-Rez’s sound perfectly. This is a great, feel good track from two very talented up and coming emcees.

Machine Gun Kelly – Get Laced
It’s time for some MGK! As I have stated numerous times before, Machine Gun Kelly is one of my favorite rappers currently making music, probably barely in my Top 10. Just listen to this track and see why. MGK spazzes on this beat and really goes off. I’m pretty sure this is an old beat, it’s some dirty south record I have heard before, I just can’t place it. Well, where was I? Oh yeah, LACE UP!

Afrojack & Steve Aoki – No Beef (feat. Miss Palmer) [Vocal Mix]
I need to post some more dubstep in these. I’m quickly becoming a fan of this genre. If you’re not familiar, then dubstep is a variation of dance/electronic music originated from London that is “tightly coiled productions with overwhelming bass lines and reverberant drum patterns, clipped samples, and occasional vocals”. Thank you Wikipedia. In all the new dubstep I have found, this is probably me favorite, so definitely check it out. I promise it will get you pumped for anything.

Comments
  1. Biqq Pete says:

    lace the fuck up

Leave a Reply

