Wednesday Night Shuffle

Posted: July 27, 2011 by eptarheels23 in Music, Wednesday Night Shuffle
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So I’m going to start doing something new here at the ESP. Every Wednesday night around 10:00 I’m going to do something similar to the New Music of the Week posts. I’m going to select five different tracks that have been on rotation the most during the past week. They can be new, old, rap, rock, pop, whatever. I’ll talk a little about each track and give you a stream, download, ect. It’s just going to be about good music. So without further adieu hit the jump for the first edition of Wednesday Night Shuffle and be on the lookout for them every Wednesday night!

Huey Mack – Just Like Me
A standout track from the West Virginia emcees debut mixtape, Wish Me Luck. Over dope production Huey drops witty lines all over the track such as “no vegetarian because I go against the grain”, “they take a look at my joystick and b*****s want to play” and “fact of the matter is my flow is like a running sink, only 17 so I got time to work out all the kinks”. He just straight raps on this track.

Mac Miller – The Spins
A slept on track, in my mind, off Mac Miller’s K.I.D.S.. Over a crazy sample Mac Miller shows why he’s such a dope emcee. The track isn’t really hip-hop, it’s almost more of an 80’s dance beat. Die hard hip-hop only heads may pass on this, but a damn good track from Mac here.

Flux Pavillion – I Can’t Stop
Most of you may recognize this beat. It is the I Can’t Stop Freestyle from Chiddy Bang off of Peanut Butter & Swelly. The beat was originally done by Flux Pavillion, an English dubstep duo composed of a producer and DJ. The beat is an absolute banger and could easily get you pumped within the first play. This is dubstep music at it’s best.

Macklemore – Wings
If you ever wore a pair of Jordan’s as a kid, you owe it to yourself to listen to this track. This is a classic sneaker anthem from Seattle emcee Mackelmore. I would also highly recommend that you watch the music video as it paints the picture Mackelmore tells with words perfectly. Upon many listens you’ll realize that the song is about more than just shoes. The reason behind the song is to prove a point as to how wrong he was thinking that expensive shoes would make him better, or would make him look cool and amazing. When really those thoughts were all consumerism, and what Nike was and is still trying to project.

Jay Rock – Colors (feat. Lil Wayne & Kendrick Lamar)
With the release of Jay Rock’s new album Follow Me Home and everything, I went back and listened to his old stuff. This is probably my favorite old Jay Rock track as it has a killer beat, Lil Wayne verse and hook and a monster verse from Kendrick. This track is so old it was originally released when Kendrick was going by K-Dot. Back in the good old days haha. Well if you’re a fan of Kendrick or Wayne, listen to this.

Comments
  1. mceeagle611 says:

    That Music Video is unbelievable, it’s worth the time. Good call to put it on the first of these shuffle posts man.

  2. […] Mack – You’re a Star, Pt. II (feat. Jo Christo) The West Virginia emcee is making his second appearance in the Wednesday Night Shuffle Series. I am quickly becoming a huge fan of him as I hear more and […]

  3. […] Mack – You’re a Star, Pt. II (feat. Jo Christo) The West Virginia emcee is making his second appearance in the Wednesday Night Shuffle Series. I am quickly becoming a huge fan of him as I hear more and […]

  4. […] Mack – You’re a Star, Pt. II (feat. Jo Christo) The West Virginia emcee is making his second appearance in the Wednesday Night Shuffle Series. I am quickly becoming a huge fan of him as I hear more and […]

  5. […] know I’ve briefly spoken about Macklemore before, but it’s time the you got formally introduced the Seattle emcee. The man has a downright […]

  6. […] Mack – You’re a Star, Pt. II (feat. Jo Christo) The West Virginia emcee is making his second appearance in the Wednesday Night Shuffle Series. I am quickly becoming a huge fan of him as I hear more and […]

Leave a Reply

