Album Review: Finally Famous by Big Sean

Posted: June 29, 2011 by eptarheels23 in Album Review, Music
Tags: , , ,


Courtesy of imflashy.com

The G.O.O.D. Music freshman has finally stepped into the spotlight with the release of his new album, Finally Famous. The album was number five on my most anticipated albums of the summer list as it had some big name guest appearances from artists such as Chiddy Bang, Kanye West, Wiz Khalifa, The-Dream, John Legend, Lupe Fiasco, Chris Brown, Pharrell, Rick Ross and Pusha T. He was supposedly going to drop a mixtape before the album, but as you can tell that didn’t happen. That was kind of disappointing as it was supposed to have a remix to Too Fake with Kanye West and another track with Nas, ohhh well. Back to the album, did it live up hype or not? Come check it out below!

1: Intro 3.5/5
Sean opens the album with a short intro over a mellow piano tingled beat where he invites the listener to take on a journey with him and he raps about how hes finally made it. He goes “I turn mistakes into lessons, dead ends to exits, On the journey of my life, so I’m inviting y’all to get in, let’s go”. There isn’t much more to be said, considering this is just an intro.

2: I Do It 4.5/5
“I do it” has always been a moniker for Big Sean that he has now turned into a song. And he actually does well as turning it into a full length record. He drops clever lines left and right along with lines that will straight up make you laugh. It an all-around good Big Sean record that will provide a new laugh every time you listen to it.

3: My Last (feat. Chris Brown) 4/5
The first official single from Finally Famous has made a huge impact on the radio waves and it has boosted Big Sean to a new status as an artist. I’m not a huge fan of it, but I do have to admit; it is catchy as hell. Chris Brown lays down a smooth hook and Big Sean complements him perfectly on his verses. If you’re a fan of the mainstream music and the radio, I would definitely give this a few spins.

4: Don’t Tell Me That You Love Me 5/5
Right off the bat, this track reminds me of Drake in the way that it comes across. It has a similar hook, melody and chorus to a “Drake-type” track, which is not a bad thing at all. The bass on this song is killer and will have your head bouncing to the beat no matter what the subject matter is. I will have this song playing on repeat for a while to come.

5: Wait for Me (feat. Lupe Fiasco) 5/5
My anticipation for this record was sky high and it kind of let me down. But in a way, those expectations were too high and so I had to re-evaluate my feeling of this record. The beat is really catchy and Lupe steals the show with his verse (as expected) as he goes “waiting’s got me here in the first place, another second, I’ve been second, maybe third in the worst case, now it’s displayed in my wordplays”. This is a must listen for any Lupe Fiasco fan.

6: Marvin Gaye & Chardonnay (feat. Kanye West) 3/5
When I first saw that Roscoe Dash was on this cut, I was scared he would ruin it. Good news: he’s only on the hook. Bad news: it doesn’t even matter. This will probably end of being one of the most popular songs of the summer of 2011, but it still sucks. Kanye really disappoints as he raps lines such as “this the f*****g anthem, get it? the f*****g anthem”. I will have to admit its catchy, but that’s all I’ll give it.

7: Dance (A$$) 2.5/5
The second I saw the final tracklist, I had a feeling this would be a terrible song. And my fears became true. The lyrics on here are about on the same level as a Gucci Mane or Soulja Boy. The only positive I can say about this song, is that the bass is off the chain. But I still can’t get over how bad the wordplay is. So if this song ever comes on by a shuffle, it’s gonna have to be skipped.

8: Get It (DT) [feat. Pharrell] 3.5/5
Big Sean’s self proclaimed idol, hops behind the boards and on the hook for this smooth joint. While I’m not a huge fan of this track, it does distract me from the previous two disasters. I’m really impartial to this track as it’s not great but not terrible.

9: Memories, Pt. II (feat. John Legend) 4/5
Now this is the type of record we are more used to Big Sean doing. John Legend lays down the smooth hook, as usual, and it makes the song have a specific feel that makes it really enjoyable. It seems to be more of a R&B less mainstream version of My Last. To sum it all up, it is what you would expect from a collaboration between Big Sean and John Legend.

10: High (feat. Wiz Khalifa & Chiddy Bang) 5/5
This is by far my favorite track on the album as it recruits three of the most popular up and comers to hop on this one record. And just from look at who they are, you can already tell what the song is going to be about. Xaphoon Jones cooks up a monster beat on this one and it makes the song that much better overall. I’m not that huge a fan of Wiz Khalifa’s new stuff, but his verse on here is one of my favorites on the whole album. It is unbelievably catchy and I can’t get it out of my head. Chiddy also drops a killer verse at the end. This is a must listen.

11: Live This Life (feat. The-Dream) 4/5
This uptempo cut falls into the same category as other records such as Memories, Pt. II and Get It (DT). I mean that in it is passable. While Live This Life may be at the top of that list, it doesn’t mean it’s a great track. I will give this record the chance to grow on me, because I feel like it has that potential.

12: So Much More 4.5/5
This track definitely has that soul influence on it and it shows Big Sean’s growth as an artist. I’m not sure if this is right, but I think he actually uses the same verse as he did from last years BET Cypher. But it was a dope verse, so why not use it in an actual song. This track really puts Sean’s flow and lyricism on display and will end up being a great thing for him in the long run.

13: What Goes Around 5/5
This song is the first of four deluxe only tracks. Big Sean’s flow on here is top notch and the hook is extremely catchy. The beat is also top notch, the one thing that came to mind after listening to this was “Why did this not make the standard album?” I would definitely give this cut some listens.

14: Celebrity (feat. Dwele) 3.5/5
This is a definite bonus track as I have no opinion on it. It doesn’t suck, but it also sticks out in no way, shape or form. That being said, it could have taken the place of a couple of the standard edition tracks, such as Dance (A$$). Heck, anything could have taken the place of that.

15: My House 2.5/5
I was looking forward to this track as it was produced by Boi-1da (know for almost about any hit by Drake). But it sucks, point blank period. The lyrics are awful and are not your usual Big Sean. The beat does kinda go, but that’s what I’ve come to expect from Boi-1da. One word: skip.

16: 100 Keys (feat. Rick Ross & Pusha T) 5/5
Who better to get on a track about pushing drugs than Rick Ross and Pusha T? Without Rick Ross and Pusha T, this track would have been sub-par but with them it takes it to a whole different level. Pusha T drops a monster verse and I feel like he is probably the most underrated emcee today.

Big Sean may have finally reached fame nationwide, and he has dropped one of the best albums of 2011. But he still has a ways to go as an artist and a musician. This album had its low points, but they were out weighed by the high points. All in all, it was a solid debut from the G.O.O.D. Music artist.

Donwload: Big Sean – Finally Famous (iTunes)

Comments
  1. […] Big Sean – Finally Famous: The Album (review) Released: June 23rd Features: Chris Brown, lupe Fiasco, Kanye West, Roscoe Dash, The-Dream, John […]

Leave a Reply

