Artist On the Rise: Crooked I

Posted: June 8, 2011 by eptarheels23 in Artist On the Rise, Music
Tags: , , , ,


Courtesy of lyvideo.com

On yesterday’s post when I mentioned Crooked I among my top emcees, some off you probably went “you’re crazy” or even “who the hell is that”. Well allow me to introduce you to Crooked I. He is one quarter of the Slaughterhouse machine, a group consisting of Crooked I, Royce da 5’9″, Joe Budden and Joell Ortiz. He is personally my favorite among the group because of his killer ability for punchlines and his insane freestyling skills. He wrote the book on freestyling over popular songs and is the best in the business at it. Crooked I is from Long Beach, California and is one the best making music from the west coast right now. He has the ability to drop crazy lines at any moment and then switch it up kill the hook. Come and find out why I placed Crooked I among my favorite artists of all-time despite never releasing a full length album.

At the age of seventeen Crooked I started his own independent record label, titled Muscle Records. This eventually lead to him inking a deal with Death Row Records and Dr. Dre. He recorded two albums, Untouchable and Say Hi To The Bad Guy, both of which were unreleased due to various label issues and industry politics. He eventually left the record label in 2004 and signed to Treacherous Records/Universal. In 2004 Crooked I collaborated with Joe Budden, Joell Ortiz, Royce da 5’9″ and Nino Bless on a song titled Slaughterhouse for Joe Budden’s album Halfway House. Based on how well the songs was received they decided to form a super group (minus Nino Bless). In August of 2009, they released their self titled debut album (and it was one of the best in 2009) which featured production from DJ Khalil, Mr. Porter, The Alchemist and many more. Since then, Slaughterhouse have risen to superstar status and were recently signed to Eminem’s Shady Records along with Yelawolf. Back to the topic of freestyling and why Crooked I is so damn good at it. First of all, Crooked was the person who invented releasing new songs every week for the fans, not Kanye West and G.O.O.D. Fridays. Every seven days he released a new track over various hip-hop beats of old and new instrumentals. His ability to personally connect with his fans through his Hip-Hop Weekly series is evident since he would fulfill beat selection requests as well as give shout-outs over any given track to fans who requested it via his MySpace page. He started this in April 2007 and it ended a year later, yeah that’s right he did it for an entire year. That shows how much skill and dedication it took to release 54 new freestyles for a whole year. In August of 2010 he then started up Hip-Hop Weekly again and continued it until November when he stopped because it seemed like everyone and their grandma now had a weekly series; G.O.O.D. Fridays, Timbaland Thursdays, Monsta Mondays by Swizz Beatz, Phil Ade Fridays, Puffpuffpasstuesdays by Snoop Dogg, just to name a few. I respect what he did because he felt like everybody was stealing his thing, but I really wish he had continued just because his freestyles were so amazing. Over his career, Crooked I has released four EP’s, Block Obama II, Mr. Pig Face Weapon Waist, Planet C.O.B. Vol. 1 and Million Dollar Story EP. I sorta like to think of them all as just on full length album. All of the them had great tracks that would have really stood out on an LP such as Circle Gang Anthem from Block Obama II, U Shoulda Made a Phone Call from Mr. Pig Face Weapon Waist, Music Is My Life and Gangsta’s Cry from Planet C.O.B. Vol. 1 and Villain from Million Dollar Story EP. Crooked I is capable of doing it all when it comes to rapping.

With his ability to drop a quick freestyle or make a full length song, Crooked I is a rising star. Artists such as Crooked I, Kendrick Lamar, Pac Div, Dom Kennedy are bringing the west coast back to the promised land. Despite never having released a full length LP, Crooked I is one of the best in the game and when that album finally drops I bet it’s going to be one of the best (if not the best) of the entire year.

All EP’s are availible on iTunes for DL

Hip-Hop Weekly: http://dubcnn.com/media/hiphopweekly/

Hip-Hop Weekly Reloaded: http://www.nodjzone.com/2011/02/13/crooked-i-hip-hop-weekly-reloaded/

Paradise

Black & Yellow

Gangsta’s Cry (feat. K-Young)

Comments
  1. Biqq Pete says:

    slaughterhouse=best group in the game right now

  2. […] boy did it show how damn good they are. Back On the Scene is one of favorite songs of the year. Crooked I kills it as he raps “the only your music is fly is when I use your compact disc as a frisbee to […]

  3. […] boy did it show how damn good they are. Back On the Scene is one of favorite songs of the year. Crooked I kills it as he raps “the only time your music is fly is when I use your compact disc as a frisbee to […]

Leave a Reply

