Artist On the Rise: Big K.R.I.T.

Posted: June 7, 2011 by eptarheels23 in Artist On the Rise, Music
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Courtesy of keepittrill.com

Yes, he has already made it big (signed with Def Jam) and is well known in the rap world, but I want to state my feelings on the Mississippi emcee. And those feelings are that he is in my top 5 artists ever. I know you’re probably groaning and saying I’m crazy, but I’m young and was never really around for the legends such as Tupac, The Notorious B.I.G., Big L, Eazy-E, Jay-Z, Eminem, ect. Don’t get me wrong, I like them as artists and it couldn’t be stated enough what they did for the game, but I have my own top emcees and it includes artists such as Big K.R.I.T., Kendrick Lamar, J. Cole, Lupe Fiasco, Kanye West and Crooked I. Lyrically he is one of the best I have ever seen and as I have stated in previous posts, I love the guys who can do it all such as producing and writing their own music. If you haven’t heard or listened to Krizzle, then you have been sleeping under a rock for that last year. He is my favorite MC from the south and is making a name for himself nationwide with his critically acclaimed albums, K.R.I.T. Wuz Here and Return of 4eva. If you haven’t blessed your ears with K.R.I.T. already (or even if you already have), come see what makes the Mississippi MC one of the best currently making music.

Big K.R.I.T. is from Meridian, Mississippi and reps it to the death. Also in case you were wondering, K.R.I.T. stands for “King Remembered In Time” which is saying a lot considering he was coming up, but at this rate that title will suit him perfectly. Big K.R.I.T.’s first project, K.R.I.T. Wuz Here dropped in May 2010 to much success and contained features from artists such as Wiz Khalifa, Curren$y, Smoke DZA and Devin the Dude. There are so many amazing songs on this album, it’s impossible to mention them all but I’m gonna try. Krizzle starts off the album with a straight, down south banger in Country S**t. Th next track however may be the best Big K.R.I.T. yet, and that is Hometown Hero. This is one of his most emotional tracks and the beat on it is slow and smooth, but still bangs. He drops some crazy lines, like “he say, she say, rumors all day, the rap game is high school and life’s a hallway” and “they quote what I spit like Confucius”. If you were gonna listen to one K.R.I.T. track (which is not recommended at all), it should be this one. The next track, Viktorious might be the song where Big K.R.I.T. goes the hardest. He speaks on how Mississippi has never had someone make it big (ahhem David Banner) as he raps “Mississippi never had a run, lets just keep it real, not like all these other states, Texas had em swagin dimes, Rich Boy threw some D’s on that Alabama certified, Florida been up out of here, Louisiana keep it trill, Lil Wayne does his thang, Lil Boosie get crazy where I live, Memphis, Yo Gotti, Three 6, 8ball & MJ, Atlanta still the meca of what’s blowing up every day.” As you can see Big K.R.I.T. has some things he wants to get off of his chest and say to the world. See Me On Top sees Krizzle like he is rapping like his life depends on it, he really brings it. The next cut, Glass House contains features from Curren$y and Wiz Khalifa and you’ve probably heard this track before considering it was also on Wiz Khalifa’s Kush & OJ mixtape. Children of the World really showcases K.R.I.T.’s skills as an emcee as he goes acapella for the last minute. The next standout is No Wheaties and contains guest apperances from Smoke DZA and Curren$y. This track is extremely chill and the features really make the song that much better. Big K.R.I.T. continues in the same vein with Moon & Stars and gets Devin the Dude to lend a hand and it adds to the overall value. Big K.R.I.T. closes out the tape with two of the best songs in As Small as a Giant and Voices. The production on these is top notch, and I have come to expect nothing else when it comes to Big K.R.I.T. K.R.I.T. Wuz Here was on one the best albums of 2010 and is still on rotation on my iPod. But how would his sophomore effort stack up?

Return of 4eva lived up to the hype and is the best tape of the year so far. It starts off with the R4 Intro where K.R.I.T. seems more hungry than ever and murders his one verse. The first true standout on the tape is the first official single, Dreamin. This song showcases his lyrically ability as he talks about past and how he wasn’t a gangbanger or drug dealer. The next two tracks are odes to cars and the down south culture. While I’m not a huge fan of Rotation, My Sub straight bangs. While it’s not the best track when it comes down to the lyrics, that’s not it’s purpose. David Banner then makes a guest appearance on Sookie Now for a banger that bleeds southern hip hop. The next song might be the best. American Rapstar is absolutely dope and it shows why Big K.R.I.T. is the rap genius that he is. He raps about making tons of money versus actually making good, quality songs. Lions and Lambs shows how Big K.R.I.T. has a killer flow as he raps over a mellow, laid back beat. Big K.R.I.T. then gets Houton rapper, Chamillionaire to drop a verse on Time Machine. This song originally leaked without Koopa and I wasn’t that big of a fan, but this version is a lot better as Chamillionaire kills his verse. The next track is probably the most controversial Big K.R.I.T. track so far, as it is titled Another Naive Individual Glorifying Greed and Encouraging Racism (I’ll leave that to you to figure out). It really shows to you how smart K.R.I.T. is as an emcee. Like K.R.I.T. Wuz Here, Krizzle closes out Return of 4eva with two slow paced, great cuts. The first of these is Free My Soul where K.R.I.T. raps over a very simple instrumental. The next track, The Vent, is without a doubt the best lyrical track off the entire tape (and probably my favorite). The beat is slow and eerie and makes you sit back and just lay there. As a bonus track, Big K.R.I.T. got down south legends Ludacris and Bun B to jump on the remix of Country S**t and they make a great original into a Big K.R.I.T. classic. Return of 4eva was an amazing second album and shows that his first effort was no fluke.

With his talents of producing and rapping, there is no limit to what he can accomplish in the game. Sorry about the length of this article, but it is what Big K.R.I.T. deserves. To actually state how good he is, is impossible. You just have to take a listen. He has everything you want in an artist, the lyrics, the production, the flow. With K.R.I.T. Wuz Here and Return of 4eva as two of the best projects in the last year, K.R.I.T. may be able to place himself along side other dirty south legends such as UGK, OutKast, Geto Boys or Three 6 Mafia by the end of his career.

K.R.I.T. Wuz Here DL (available on iTunes for support): http://www.djbooth.net/index/mixtapes/entry/big-krit-krit-wuz-here/

Return of 4eva DL: http://www.returnof4eva.com/music.php

The Vent

American Rapstar

Dreamin’

My Sub

Hold You Down (Remix) [feat. Big K.R.I.T. Emilio Rojas] – Laws
I’m throwing this in here as an extra because, first of all this songs has killer production from DJ Khalil, but really because Big K.R.I.T. murders this song

Comments
  1. Biqq Pete says:

    the king will definately be remembered…

  2. […] Now, Another Naive Individual Glorifying Greed and Encouraging Racism The emcee from Mississippi is one of favorite artists currently making music and his new album just backs up that point. It bleeds southern rap with guest appearances from dirty […]

  3. […] with Krizzle on the direction for the album, click here. But what you can expect is the same old Big K.R.I.T. as his last two previous efforts. American Rapstar (from Return of […]

  4. […] for much longer. He has strong lyrics and dope production, in the same lane as J. Cole and Big K.R.I.T. As M.i has stated, “I’m going to change the game by bringing back the MC, DJ, soul […]

  5. […] with Krizzle on the direction for the album, click here. But what you can expect is the same old Big K.R.I.T. as his last two previous efforts. American Rapstar (from Return of […]

Leave a Reply

