Artist On the Rise: Kendrick Lamar

Posted: May 29, 2011 by eptarheels23 in Artist On the Rise, Music
Tags: , , , , , ,


Courtesy of defpenradio

What if I told you Compton had more to offer than just gangs and violence? Well then, let me introduce you to my favorite rapper currently making music, Kendrick Lamar. Kendrick reps Compton, California and is on the Top Dawg Entertainment label with up and comers Ab-Soul, Schoolboy Q and Jay Rock. Together they form the group Black Hippy (to be discussed later). Kendrick brings raw emotion, lyricism, and dope line after line to the game. He discusses a wide range of topics such as the street life (even tho he is from Compton, Kendrick never joined a gang), politics, race, and even more. If you are sleeping on Kendrick, I highly recommend you wake up.

For starters, let me tell you how I even came across possibly my favorite MC of all-time. It’s late August and I was on 2dopeboyz and I was just looking through the new music releases of the day. At the time, Monster by Kanye West was my favorite song and one of the new music posts was this freestyle over Monster by some guy called Kendrick Lamar. I thought “what the heck” and gave the freestyle a shot. I could not believe my ears as Kendrick absolutely murder the song; I loved it so much I decided to look up this guys work. So I found the Kendrick Lamar EP and took a listen. It was incredibly dope and it was on rotation for a while from that point on. Then I found out that he was releasing a new mixtape O(verly) D(edicated) in mid-September and I was pumped. I downloaded it the second it came out and to this day, it is my favorite album ever and I still can’t stop listening to it (download link below). From start to finish it is amazing; with standouts such as Ignorance Is Bliss, The Heart Pt. II, Michael Jordan and Average Joe. The mixtape features many bangers and soulful songs and Kendrick goes hard in every bar. With a new album coming out sometime this summer (fingers crossed) and his new, J. Cole produced single HiiiPoWeR garnering much acclaim, the anticipation has reached a ridiculous level. One can only imagine the limitless potential that Kendrick Lamar contains.

Kendrick can not only drop hard hitting tracks, but also flow smoothly and intellectually over soul driven beats. He has everything you want in a true MC and brings a much needed sense of honesty to the game. He’s starting to blow up, but I have no doubt that Kendrick will never sell out. A few years from now, who knows? He could be as big as Kanye or Hov. Just watch out because he’s coming for everyone in the game. Don’t worry!! (if you listen to Kendrick, you’ll get that reference)

Download: Kendrick Lamar EP
Download: O(verly) D(edicated) (also available on iTunes for support)

Monster (Freestyle)

Ignorance Is Bliss

HiiiPoWeR

Look Out for Detox

Is It Love (feat. Angela McCluskey)

Comments
  1. zach says:

    good shit but you have to listen to SIX he is gonna be big
    http://www.datpiff.com/Six-Teenage-Wasteland-mixtape.162374.html

  2. eptarheels23 says:

    Thanks man, I’ll definitely have to give SIX a try

  3. […] I Do It, Say So, Stand Up, Remember the Days If I told you Compton had more to it than violence and Kendrick Lamar, you probably wouldn’t believe me. Well Hub City rapper H.O.P.E. dropped Believe In HOPE […]

  4. […] check out: Artist You Need to Know: Kendrick Lamar Album Review: O(verly) D(edicated) by Kendrick Lamar Album Review: Section.80 by Kendrick […]

  5. […] Rock also being half signed to Strange Music. The first member of the group I will talk about is Kendrick Lamar. If you have read this blog before, then you probably know by now that Kendrick is my favorite […]

  6. […] I Do It, Say So, Stand Up, Remember the Days If I told you Compton had more to it than violence and Kendrick Lamar, you probably wouldn’t believe me. Well Hub City rapper H.O.P.E. dropped Believe In HOPE […]

  7. […] check out: Artist You Need to Know: Kendrick Lamar Album Review: O(verly) D(edicated) by Kendrick Lamar Album Review: Section.80 by Kendrick Lamar […]

Leave a Reply

